You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
commodore_torakula

My visit to the USS Iowa BB-61

5 comments in this topic

Members
1,570 posts
11,119 battles

iowa18.thumb.jpg.88cd83cb6a38c94e926d0e5bf0228808.jpg....welloh man like a complete noob I effed up and put this in the wrong category.....pls forgive that.......anyhows:   farewell to the Iowa and if you visit too I hope you get your $20+parking worth!.....I know I sure did.....(I also started at the end to be quixotic....)iowabusinessend.thumb.jpg.af6bff2954b35b7b6921c1b8b5d4138d.jpg....the business end.iowaside.thumb.jpg.a2d9f116ffa04b688f9e6f96e7d779e0.jpg....................................arriving near Port's O'call in sunny San Pedro, CA (Los Angeles) you'll get an up close view of these 5" DP 2ndaries...they're remnants of a bygone age...when BBs like this were made, we didn't have huge supertankers and cruise ships that (guns and missiles aside, of course) kind of make this 887-foot behemoth look less intimidating.....iowabidness.thumb.jpg.a688bed1691f6bcf0a66837e0f97e1f2.jpgaashell.thumb.jpg.e11b5fe24e9887d27fd374d869c0f2ab.jpg......                                                                                                                                                                 a 16" shell from the main battery seen on deck up against the rear turret.....bear in mind these things weigh a ton and with 6 of the 110-pound gunpowder bags can be thrown clear over the horizon with a fair amount of accuracy.

00types.thumb.jpg.5a4d86f6158afd19395f11995754428e.jpg.........................................          a neat little guide to your options.....mine's the nuclear tipped one.....would definitely make our game pointless, but quick!