Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
Kagatori

Need help with Dodging as a Destroyer

17 comments in this topic

[O_O]
Beta Testers
23 posts
4,509 battles

I'm a DD main. I have been since Beta. Looking back over my games over the last few months or so, I've noticed I'm starting to get stuck in a reoccurring pattern that I cant seam to break.. I'm not good at dodging, and I often get nailed with torpedoes less than 5 minutes after the match starts.

This typically happens with 1 of 3 scenarios;

1)  We have a cap and I'm sailing over from one cap to another to support allied ships (normally DD's). I'm not spotted or radio located, but torpedoes randomly show up broadside to my current path. I reduce speed and turn, but I don't really know the proper speed and rudder shift to get the angle right to avoid them, and I take 1. Either it sinks me or I"m left with 3k health or less.

2) I'm in a cap which is contested. None of the enemy has been spotted yet, so I stick around to contest the cap, but I have my rear facing the cap so I can run if needed. I get spotted, pop smoke when i start to lose some HP, and run away. I'm sailing away out of range, and torpedoes show up outside of my smoke. I try to avoid them, but cant get the angle right and take one on the side or rear of the ship. I might be 2/3 health from a gun battle, and 1 torpedo hit sends me back to port.

3) A CV spots me and cross drops 2 or 3 torpedo bombers. and I get sent back to port immediately.

Getting sent to port each time I get hit by them, doesn't really teach me how to avoid them.. I've tried turning towards them, or turning away, and changing speed, but each torpedo send is different, different km/hr, different detection, different angles. What works for one set of torpedoes, If I try to reproduce it, it doesn't work the second time.

So basically my question is; Is there any way to practice dodging torpedoes or somehow improve avoiding them?