Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
S16_Hunter

Question about CV's dropping torps near islands

12 comments in this topic

[H_]
Members
231 posts
7,217 battles

Not being a CV driver I don't know nor understand the in's and out's of dropping torps.  Is there a minimum distance you can have your planes drop torps when coming in "over" the island?   Meaning from the Island, land side, out to open water?   So minimum distance between island and ship. 

I've been in a couple of games where I was hugging an island and got torped by a CV and just wondered how they could drop torps when I'm that close to the island from the island side..  Can you accidently drop the torps on the island?

I have had some drops that I didn't get killed by even though all the torps went under my ship, is there a minimum arming distance limit for dropped torps?   or maybe and sorry I don't know do some carriers have Deep water torps?

Just curious..

Wish I had screen shots, but never think of that when I'm chugging along in game..

• Cool 1

[KP]
Beta Testers
1,834 posts
11,180 battles

There is a minimum arming distance for TB, also if your close to the island and they drop on you what looks like it was land then you may only see 1 torpedo or none depending.  Good cv players know how close they can get to drop them

• Bad 1

Members
2,992 posts
5,204 battles

There's a drop indicator that'll show you from where the torps will be dropped to where they run out of fuel, so making sure you don't drop on land is pretty easy. From there it's just knowing how far the torps will travel before they arm (3.5 seconds for usn and ijn, 3 seconds for the Germans).

That the water begins immediately following a 100 foot cliff or any of the "mountains" that are barely taller than battleships doesn't matter.

Edited by cometguy

[-DOG-]
[-DOG-]
Members
37 posts
3,011 battles