Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
AMajor

Question about the matchmaker mechanics

16 comments in this topic

[DBM]
Members
354 posts
3,916 battles

Been playing in Ranked battles and wanted to play some Random battles (I play dds).  New for me is that my Tier VII ships are meeting Tier IX and my Tier VIII are now see Tier Xs.  Is it the fact that I'm playing Ranked that the computer is uptiering me or is there some other metric that it's using?  If it's the latter, I'm flattered, if just a little frustrated.  I need to know if I have to adjust my gameplay.  I'm a decent Benson driver, but I can't put myself in a place where I'm 1 on 1 with a Gearing (which I got to play with the space battles so I know how bad [edited] she is).

Members
9,976 posts

Since when didn't they? :Smile_amazed:

I've never touched ranked, and I still see a significant # of matches bottom tiered in 7 and 8.

[AWP]
Members
784 posts
3,021 battles

You aren’t playing in ranked. Make sure it doesn’t say random battles. Ranked is only tier 8 until rank 10. Rank 9 until rank 2 is tier 10 and rank 1 is tier 7. You will only see the tier that you are in. 

[DBM]
Members
354 posts
3,916 battles
23 minutes ago, awiggin said:

I've never touched ranked, and I still see a significant # of matches bottom tiered in 7 and 8.

It's new for me.  Does that mean that the game thinks that I can play at that level?

[DBM]
Members
354 posts
3,916 battles
19 minutes ago, Belyy_Klyk said:

You aren’t playing in ranked. Make sure it doesn’t say random battles. R

I don't understand your comment.  I assure you, I was playing Ranked battles.  I'm not that good yet, but I'm improving.  If you want, I can send you a screenshot of my profile.

[AWP]
Members
784 posts
3,021 battles
17 minutes ago, AMajor said: