You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
XpliCT_

A Discussion About Mods

63 comments in this topic

[SUCIT]
Members
824 posts
3,617 battles

So I've seen a number of different topics come out about mods recently.  With WG saying they will be putting more mods into the base game, I can't keep quiet.  I believe that while 95% of mods have no effect on gameplay, there is a small percentage that shouldn't be allowed.  I'm of course referencing the "Stop-Go" mod, the angling mod, and the "X marks the spot" mod.  These are three mods which accomplish nothing other than making the game easier to play.  

Now you could argue that making games easier to play is a good thing.  I believe it is not.  Take a game like Rocket League.  Many of you probably haven't played it, nor have some of you even heard of it.  It's basically rocket powered car soccer.  It is exactly as goofy as it sounds.  I started playing Rocket League the day it released, and was pretty good.  I wasn't a pro player or anything of the sort, but I was in the top MMR bracket and could hold my own against basically everyone.  Comparing my gameplay from then, to my gameplay now, it's absurd how much the game and skill cap has changed.  New mechanics were invented, new strategies, and most of all better decision making.  None of this was accomplished through any mods.  This was all driven by competition between top players.  It has turned the game from a small studio project into a major eSport.