You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
AMajor

Using the Benson in Ranked battles

14 comments in this topic

[DBM]
Members
390 posts
5,067 battles

Just played my very first Ranked battle ever.  It was in my Benson.  What a glorious experience!  I drove her like I stole her and the map had a whole group of islands within the C cap that was a dd drivers fantasy date.  It was soooo nice not to worry about planes and to have the entire team focused on winning and paying attention to each other.

I'm new to the Benson, but she has my highest rated captain (thank you Sims) at 16 points.  He has PM, LS, BFT, CE (standard USN 10 dd pt skills).  My additional skills are Adrenaline Rush (AR) and Survivability Expert (SE).  The reason for those two skills is that in Random, I tend to have to slug my way out of trouble when one (or more) of my Random teammates does something dumb and gets themselves deleted.  It is more of a defensive skill set.  Having a sample size of one in Ranked, I don't know if maybe that is the proper skill set, but it feels like I'm expecting trouble and not planning on dealing it out.

I'm wondering if I should redistribute the captains skills to be more offensive for Ranked battles?  At 5.8 km concealment, she's plenty stealthy, so if I get jumped, it's my own damn fault.  What do you think about switching AR for TA and SE for DE?  What do I do with the extra point?  Is there a 1 pt skill set other than PM that is useful in Ranked?

Thanks in advance for your help.

[DES23]
Alpha Tester
1,202 posts
4,951 battles

The Fletcher gets all the attention, but the Benson is an underappreciated beast. 

• Cool 1

[SALVO]
Members
20,010 posts
19,932 battles
21 minutes ago, AMajor said: