You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
Chaos_EN2

Questions from an PvE Player (WARNING Long Post)

41 comments in this topic

Members
4,123 posts
8,680 battles

To the Staff of Wargaming - I am addressing this to you but I know I will hear from my fellow player/forum members, all I ask is this discussion not devolve in to the normal PvP vs. PvE hate filled debates that many fall into (even I). Also I have been UP since midnight EST due to one of my officers quitting so please forgive me for spelling and grammar errors. And this meant is not a threat, or an attack or Wargaming, so I hope it is not taken this way.

I am a long time gamer, I started pen and paper RPG with the White Box of D&D during the late 70s, and I have been a computer gamer the 80s with Bard's Tale and Ultima Online, I even scripted (self taught) and ran a RunUO free server called Legends of Hope. This experience does not give me any special, insight to gaming, I am just letting you know my background.

When I first started computer online games, I quickly learned to have a strong dislike for PvP environment, mainly from the bully like attitude of some players, this may stem from my own strong dislike of bullies from days as a child who was bullied for being a stutter. So this along with my work schedule, my home life issues has always made PvP distasteful for me. This will not change, just like I would not expect any of the Hard core PvP players to change to PvE. For me PvP and PvE are both needed components for most modern gaming. But at the same time a game (any game) that is PvP only has no interest for me.