Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
AVR_Project

RNG based distance compression ????

19 comments in this topic

[GWG]
[GWG]
Members
5,335 posts
9,433 battles

When someone recommended to me to start saving replays....   Well, that turned out to be a bad thing.

I troubleshoot electronics for a living....   and I notice things -- I'll point them out to you.

You are stopped in smoke and a spotted enemy Des Moines is plowing towards you.  It's 11KM away so no worry..  But wait..  the distance is ticking down..  ticking at 0.1KM per second...

Ummm..  That's faster than a football field a second..   How fast is that?  That's 360 KPH or 223.7 MPH...   Hokey smokes!!  The real Des Moines couldn't go that fast if it was falling out of the sky!

That's Mach 0.27, or 194.4 knots.  The gun turrets would be sucked out of the wells at that speed.  The signal flags would be little clouds of confetti.

Ooooooo   Kaaaaayyyy...    Settle down.  We do some time/distance compression to keep the games from running several hours/days.  It's a game...   It's a game..  Go with it.

Continuing on with the replay, I pointed my Gearing away from the Des Moines, went full throttle (have speed flags), and hit the boost.  Soon, I'm doing about 40 knots.  Des Moines is still closing the distance and pops radar at 9KM...  Soon, it's 8.5KM...  then 8KM...  I have to dodge the shells at this point - so distance drops even faster.

There is some form of ratio-metric bias here..  But even with flags, the Des Moines shouldn't be overtaking a Gearing.

OK.  There is no speed calibration on these maps.  Seem to me, if there was, my top speed would be changing throughout the game.

So basically, if two equally equipped cruisers raced from one side of the map to the other, there would be some times one would speed out ahead, and then it would flip, and the other would catch up and maybe pass.  It's like a biorhythm type variation throughout the game.