You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
Joe_918145

How Are Players for Random Battles Selected?

28 comments in this topic

Members
128 posts
6,187 battles

I'm still a noob, having only played 1189 battles at this point.  I'm currently in a Cleveland, and have become addicted to WoW since beginning play last year.

However, over the past couple of days it seems I rarely get on a winning team.  The problem is that often five or so ships simply hang out away from the battle and do not engage unless attacked.  They seem to play not to win but to survive the battle.  The reason I'm here is because in the last battle I played there were 4 BBs that sat back and watched three cruisers and a dd get wiped out at our base.  Then two of them ran away rather than at least try to take a couple of the enemy down before the enemy capped the base.

Right now I feel like letting WoW keep my money and just quit playing.  Losing almost all battles played lately makes me want to go get a root canal rather than continue.  But I've been on teams where everybody fights, and I know how much fun it is to play when everybody plays to win.

The question I have is does anyone know how the servers select people for random battle?  Is it truly random or are there algorithms  built into the selection?  Perhaps the people that spend the most $$$$ get to play together.  I don't have a clue how it's done but the winning percentage lately can't be because teams are created on pure chance alone.

Edited by Joe_918145
Typo
  • Cool 2

[WOLF3]
Members
6,473 posts
2,422 battles

There are algorithms to select for Tiers and ship classes.  After that it is supposed to be random.

BTW, you might want to fix your thread title.  Ranked battles are a different thing.

[MIA-A]
Members
2,125 posts
6,810 battles

Over the long term, the common denominator of teams is you. 

• Cool 1
  • Bad 1

[NDA]
Supertester
4,847 posts
13,843 battles