You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
hiddenroomba

How should I play the Gneisenau?

50 comments in this topic

Members
16 posts
439 battles

this is my first forum post, so I would like to introduce myself (briefly). I began playing two years ago; I received an invite code with the Aurora and the King Albert. I proceeded to play the game for 10 coop battles and uninstalled completely. I got back into the game this January when I got an email from WG giving me a tier 5 premium and a bucketload of goodies asking me to come back. So I got back on, and now I find this game very interesting.

So I know I only have 100 something battles, but I fully finished the Bayern grind and bought the Gneisenau. I had enough free xp and a little bit of ship xp to fully upgrade the Gneisenau after three games, but I still don't know how to play it well. Please refrain from telling me I'm a horrible bad noob because I know that lol and I'm just trying to get better.

My most noteworthy game was where I was being harassed by two Galissonnieres, so I pushed up, killed both of them with torps, and died of fire.

I find that at range the guns are nigh useless due to obscene sigma (std. deviation) values of the volley, meaning that out of 6 shots, only 2-3 will hit for low damage.

Am I supposed to close in and brawl with enemies? Whenever I do that I get set on fire or just obliterated. How do I play this ship?

It should be worth pointing out that right after my third game I bought and equipped all packages, so in my first three games I was bare stock. If I could have some help, it woul dbe very appreciated,

Edited by IndKanone
  • Cool 1

[H-W-C]
Members
1,262 posts
3,355 battles

1. Full secondary build. Do it.

2. Torpedooooooos

3. 25 second reload

4. Long range AA.

So yeah, getting stuck up in there and brawling is Gneisenau's thing. Just make sure you still have a bit of support and aren't rushing a bunch of destroyers and you'll be fine.

[RKLES]