You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
Redaction

DD Main

22 comments in this topic

[RN]
Beta Testers
1,021 posts
1,161 battles

Hi guys, its been a looong time since ive posted. But I started playing again not to long ago, and although I love the history and grandeur of Battleships, and the elegance of Cruisers,

I have always loved the sheer action of destroyers, its just taken me a long time to realize I want to become a DD main.

So what I am asking, for any DD mains out there, pointers, tips, I am not a good player by any stretch, but i'll take any advice.

Happy sailing.:Smile_honoring:

[WOLF6]
Members
1,874 posts
4,926 battles

Well, let's see....

Don't go into a Domination cap without knowing what DDs and Cruisers the enemy has. If a Radar cruiser is coming, and the cavalry isn't right behind you - bail.

If your concealment isn't the best, go TO a CAP, and CONTEST a cap, but don't die trying to TAKE a cap. Also, see aforementioned note above regarding cavalry.

Don't sit sideways to the enemy in smoke.

AP works better on Cruisers and even BB superstructures, better than you think. Once you get a fire going, switch to AP and see how that does for ya.

The longer a match goes, the more important to your team you become. Caps can be retaken. Sunk DDs remain sunk.

Don't forget to do the things that aren't rewarded but win battles - spotting, smoking BBs, capping/re-capping, denying enemy DDs access to your BBs.

That'll do for a start. 07

[OPG]
[OPG]
Members
137 posts
7,319 battles

My Quick tips for you: 

1. Get concealment expert ASAP
2. When loading into the game, look at the enemy team and see what ships have radar. 
3. Try to stay on the edge of caps when capping. 
4. Have a get-away plan when going in to torp someone.
5. If they are advancing in your direction ~12km and closing, you can launch 10km torps and still hit. 
6. If you hit a torp, you can call out what ship damage controlled or burn it down with HE.