Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
ginger63

US Cruiser progression

13 comments in this topic

[SNIPR]
Members
33 posts
4,774 battles

Hello all this is my first time posting in any Wargaming forum.  Forgive me I am long winded.

I am a (newish?) player with World of Warships, less than 500 matches total slowly working my way up the US tech trees minus the carrier tree and I'm finally starting to learn a little about what kind of player I am.  I consider DD play very exciting but I am terrible at it and usually end up getting myself killed by overextending.  BB play is alright but I get super impatient with the fact that I can take a smoke break between getting from one engagement to another.  Cruiser play...I like it.  Fast, flexible, hard hitting.  It suits me.  I had a lot of fun working up through the Phoenix and Omaha and adjusting to the Cleveland was a bit of a challenge but I got used to and fond of it eventually.

I was initially dreading upgrading to the Pensacola due to it's bad rap BUT I AM HAVING A BLAST.  It's guns are so much more effective than I ever imagined, especially the AP and their accuracy/travel time are a dream compared to the Cleveland at least for me.  That finally gets me to my point.

I know they're both gunships on paper but play much differently in practice, as I climb the Cruiser Tree does the game play lean more towards the Cleveland or the Pensacola?  I know they're both made of tissue paper and similar in many respects but the Pensacola feels so much more dangerous and I can actually hit targets with it vs not knowing if the Cleveland's shells are going to land until after the match is over.  I would prefer for the game play to continue to lean towards the Pensacola as I Tier climb and would like to know the thoughts and opinions of those how have climbed higher than me.  I don't want to free to play grind all the way to a Des Moines just to learn that it wasn't for me.