Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
LunchCutter

Have CVs become more powerful?

11 comments in this topic

Members
228 posts
1,077 battles

I started playing this game again last month after a looong break. Seemed to have noticed that CV's have become a lot more lethal since my return. Especially the torp bombers. When I used to play a lumbering BB it seemed to work (sometimes ) if you kept trying to keep the planes facing your bow you could sometimes shoot a few down and make aiming the torps harder. Now it seems they can do a ultra tight 360 spin and drop a load right off your flank. Manual releasing I've been told (never played the CV class) Last 3 ships including my Benson, thanks to a point blank torp drop, have been sunk by CV's.

I always watch the map and always keep a cruiser or two close by when I'm in a BB but it doesn't seem to help much, once a CV sees you its going to be a lot of pain coming your way..

Last game is a good example, I spotted the bombers 10k away and took as much evasive action as I could, they aborted their first attack but as per the norm were able to swing around and drop another spread of torps giving me 3 seconds to avoid:( Also the Gulio Ceaser has useless AA which doesn't help.)

(There was 2 other ships in my group that were killed before this screenshot was taken, the CV nailed the other cruiser.)

shot-18.02.08_08.39.32-0864.jpg

Edited by LunchCutter

[STP]
[STP]
Beta Testers
2,022 posts
11,121 battles

Manual drops (t6+) and bad AA/alone ships (like your pic) is really easy to a minimal competent cv kill.

• Cool 1

[HINON]
Members
8,778 posts

Considering the tight turns and short nature of GC you should dodge most torps from a spread, even a manual one.

Members
2,059 posts
5,097 battles

If you're just now facing tier 6 CVs then you now get to see the manual drop.

Otherwise noting has changed.

Members
228 posts
1,077 battles
5 minutes ago, RipNuN2 said: