Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
Tigershark87

Question on super structures (very new player here)

23 comments in this topic

[TWE]
Members
97 posts
1,138 battles

Hey Guys, 

I just started playing this game last month on recommendation from a friend. I'm really enjoying my time and have spent a little $ (premium account + some flags), but one thing that keeps bothering me is "super structures". I've done some research on it and get the general idea of it, but hoping more experienced players out there could provide some insights into how it works or is it 100% luck? 

For example: I was playing a battle last night in my Dunkerque (I think I got this free from my friends invite code, because I didn't buy it.. but not 100% sure) and I kept trying to shoot at this other battleship and my teammate was screaming in chat (ALL CAPS) about me not being able to aim properly at the superstructure. I thought I was aiming correctly based on the images I saw online, but I guess I wasn't :( 

Any helpful tips or knowledge would be really appreciative! 

Thank you everybody in advance :fish_happy:

Edited by Tigershark87

[MIA-A]
Members
139 posts
7,282 battles

The Superstructure is the part of the ship above the hull (usually structures between the gun turrets).  Basically the superstructure is a less armored part of a ship.  So if you're a cruiser or DD, fire HE or AP at the superstructure (of battleships) to do damage as your guns are not big/powerful enough to penetrate the hull armor.  If you're a BB, you do NOT want to aim at the superstructure (unless the target is bow on or running straight away) as your guns can penetrate the hull of ships for more damage.

TL;DR Superstructure is just an armor model in the game so aim for it if you cannot penetrate the hull armor.

Edited by Thunderstruck2016

[SPTR]
Members
25,618 posts
10,807 battles