Sign in to follow this  
You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
HyperFish

To retrain or to recruit.

6 comments in this topic

[ANZAC]
[ANZAC]
Members
598 posts
5,024 battles

When I started playing WOWS I didn't pay a lot of attention to moving my captains around, and when you're starting out you're upgrading ships every few matches, so it doesn't matter.

Now I'm trying to grind two specific lines, UK BB's and US CVs. Both lines are mid tier, my US CV the first to make the jump from Tier V Bogue to Tier VI Independence. I'm taking the same captain along for the ride, transferring them to new ships are they're researched and bought, which means my captains are getting a lot more experience than I'm used to.

The issue is that the higher the level of the captain, the longer it will take to train the captain on the new ship, and during that time the captains abilities are significantly nerfed on a ship that has yet to be improved above stock.

I estimate that a captain becomes "good" when he hits level 10, allowing him at least 1 level 4 skill. At some stage it must be easier leaving the captain in the old ship and bringing in a new guy, progressing through the earlier xp levels sooner and being able to use those abilities at 100% as soon as they're available. There must also be a point where retraining your higher level captain to full competency would take longer than training a new guy to level 10

I know you can use dubloons to retrain instantly, but I'm saving them. I do spend the credits on halving the retraining time.

My question is: At what level do you leave your captain in his ship and recruit a new guy? Or do you lovingly take your chosen captain all the way to Tier X?

[WLDD]
Beta Testers
317 posts
4,888 battles

Always move the old commander to the new ship.  Retraining them takes a fraction of the time it would take to rank them back up.  Compare the tables in the following links and you'll see.