You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
WES_HoundDog

Ways to fix the Izumo

24 comments in this topic

[KILL]
Members
1,444 posts
15,266 battles

OK, so i'm not that good at BB's and Izumo does not stand out as really bad compared to some that i have played but i do feel there is room for some love and judging by the top threads on this board, others feel the same way. Especially after the love the high tier US bb's got and the introduction of the ridiculous British BB's. 

Ok so this is not a fix all of these list, but just a list of tweeks that can be done to improve this ship.  Please feel free to list your own.

1. Give Turret #2 360 degree turn.

2. Start the ship on the B hull.  When you are afraid to see a tier 6 CV in the game at tier 9. Something is seriously wrong.

3. I bounced more shells in the battlecruiser Amgai with only one small well armored plate in the rear.   Izumo has a much larger and thicker plate and rarely bounces anything when not nose on.   I know the deck overhangs some of this plating but this armor should have better performance.

4. Give the shells more penetration.  The AP shells shatter or overpen on British BB's, they will not pen this ship let alone citadel it which is the only way you could possibly beat them one on one.   Flat broadsides at 10k should not result in a bunch of shatters.   Did anyone even test these ships before being released? The pens on dd's are nice but the higher end of the penetration needs to be improved.  The shells will not citadel any tier 10 BB that is broadside over 13k except the yamato (out to 15k) and that is only if you are at the perfect angle to put the shells at the right spot through the 32mm bow armor.  I'd probably be happy with nerfing British BB's armor and giving them a citadel but that might be for another thread.

Edited by WES_HoundDog

Members
4,274 posts
4,649 battles