You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
jconlin

Need help finding the bottleneck in my system

36 comments in this topic

[DMNT]
Members
7 posts
747 battles

If this is in the wrong section please move it. This is my first time posting on this forum, I have been playing the game for a while now +\- 500 battles. I just recently picked up a used gaming pc as an upgrade from playing on my MacBook. I downloaded the game and tried it out and the game was completely unplayable. Very low frame rate and studdering. It’s a Dell Optiplex 990 here’s the specs

- core i5 2500 3.3ghz 

- 10gb ddr3 

- 500gb hdd 

- nvidia geforce 8400 gs 512mb

-Windows 10 

now I know the gpu is trash, I plan on upgrading as soon as funds allow, but I’ve read that wows is cpu intensive and about any card will run it, the cpu stayed at about 50% most of the time. That may be completely wrong however, the question is; is the gpu the problem or could the problem lie somewhere else? I’m not all that tech savvy but I do enjoy the game so the answer may be plain as day here but I am at a loss. 

[PSP]
Members
6,317 posts
8,942 battles

If you are planning to upgrade a Dell, note that a video card upgrade will entail a power supply upgrade too. Dell builds to a price point rather than a quality point and thus installs a PSU just adequate to power the system as shipped. Your system comes with a maximum 265 Watt power supply. Even a mid-level gaming video card is going to require twice that power.

This document lists compatible processors. http://clascsg.uconn.edu/download/specs/O990.pdf

However, you have a system that's not worth very much and you need to ask yourself just how much money you wish to spend upgrading it. First, check the recommended requirements for WOWS, does your computer meet them?

https://worldofwarships.com/en/content/game/system-requirements/

Edited by Snargfargle
  • Cool 1

Members
3,725 posts
15,059 battles