You need to play a total of 5 battles to post in this section.
Quaffer

Matchmaker Nomenclature

11 comments in this topic

Supertester, Alpha Tester
6,042 posts

I often see +2/-2 in threads used when the poster is discussing the range of tiers in a matchmaker.  I also see +1/-1.
As an engineer, I find the use of +2/-2 to be jarring.  To me +2/-2 when applied to an integer means that I have a range of five integers that I'm covering.

For example 7 + 2 = 9 and 7 - 2 = 5 so a tier 7 ship entering a +2/-2 MM would enter a battle that includes tiers 5,6,7,8 and 9 ships. It also may be the top tier in a 3,4,5,6,7 or it may be in a 6,7,8,9,10 MM. The (+2/-2) to an engineer, or a designer, or a machinist, or an inspector, indicates the allowable variance from a specific value. When applied to a MM it covers 40% more tiers than the speaker intended.

I don't expect the practice of saying +2/-2 to go away because it's embedded in the nomenclature.  But I propose an alternative for use by people who enjoy clarity.  When you want to refer to a matchmaker that includes 3 tiers call it a three tier MM. Feel free to say 3T MM if you are a slave to brevity. You will find it easier to type than: (Hold down the shift key =) 2 / - 2. When there are only two tiers to be included call it a two tier MM. Single tiers would be ...

See, I've even made a case for being lazy.

I hope to see you all in many 3T MM battles in the future.

• Cool 2

[O_O]
Members
4,425 posts
9,588 battles

Triggered?

Spoiler

:Smile_teethhappy::Smile-_tongue:

Edited by desmo_2

[HINON]
Modder, In AlfaTesters, Beta Testers
6,498 posts
3,751 battles

People use that way of writing it? :Smile_amazed:

I just use +/- 2.

Faster, less typing, and has the same meaning.

[OO7]
Members
2,229 posts
9,733 battles

If you're an engineer or philosopher you can use:

-2 v +2

As the slash people are using is supposed to signify "or." 

Actually upon further reflection: