You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.
mophead90

American or Japanese Carriers

18 comments in this topic

Members
3 posts
1,028 battles

Hey guys,

I'm still new to the game but I absolutely love playing CVs. But I'm not really sure which way I should go, but the US or Japanese lines. Any suggestions? They both seem to have their pluses and minuses at the lower tiers so I'm not sure which way to go. 

[-Y-]
Alpha Tester
4,438 posts
6,631 battles

Explore both at least up to tVII, keep your options open as CVs are work in progress, while you can better appreciate the pros and cons of each style of play. If you are determined to press on to tviii-tx, majority opinion says IJN. If you a bloodyminded contrarian go USN. 

[_ARP_]
[_ARP_]
Supertester, Supertest Coordinator
11,944 posts
3,863 battles

IJN

• Cool 1

[ASHIP]
Members
580 posts
5,190 battles

The IJN line is considered superior in almost every respect.

It should be said that the USN CVs are more forgiving of mistakes, but more important than that is that you learn to strafe early on. Strafing and manual drop are unlocked at tier 6, and these are the core mechanics of the class. IJN CVs provide more opportunity to practice due to the higher number of squadrons requiring more manual drops, the increased reliance on accurate manual drops due to the less dense torpedo spread, and increased tactical possibilities of having two fighter squadrons.

Before you start playing at tier 6 I strongly recommend that you look at guides to teach you how strafing works, especially when using multiple squadrons. It is important that you do not just learn the controls, but also the tactics and maneuvers that this mechanic allows.

So yea, IJN all the way.

Members
609 posts
7,239 battles

^
Holy crap! your profile scared me.

Aside from the above, I say IJN

[M_L]
[M_L]
Beta Testers
321 posts
8,831 battles