MCCIV

Quick question about my mid tier BBs

• You need to play a total of 10 battles to post in this section.

4 posts in this topic

So heres the dilema. I find myself in a mid/low tier battleship because bbs rock, (Ill use myogi for example) and as I shoot at a cruiser or battleship with AP. If I hit sometimes I get a roll of exactly 1000 damage. Now dont jump to conclusions and say im a noob... I know that it is based off of shell caliber (Wyoming rolls 860and it means I am either over penning or under penning, but how would I fix it? Do I have to settle for lower rolls or should I be switching to He? Would closing distance help?

Just checking to see if anyone can explain and help me fix this. Would rather roll 2-3k rolls than a 860 derp... Im mcciv by the way. Ex-blitz player who playes boats on a computer that is weaker than a potato. Super stoked that a wows blitz is in development. Anyhow, any tips on Battleship gunnery is most welcome! (other than 'hit the citadel' and stuff:child:)

Ammo usage is so situational, so its hard to give hard and fast rules on what to use. But for starters, I would recomend (if you haven't already) turning on the advanced ribbons in options. That makes it easier to see if your penning, overpenning, bouncing, etc. After that, just kinda gotta learn from experience what shells, fired from what boat, at what target, at what angle...

Hit the citadel. :trollface:

Usually, getting 1k or 860 rolls like that means you're getting overpens, which are only 10% of your potential damage per shell (PDS). Check where your shells are falling in relation to the ship. If it hits the bow, stern, or superstructure, your aim is off. If it hits the bow, move the reticule a bit closer to the ship, if it hits the stern, move it farther away, if it hits the superstructure, move it down a bit, etc.