You need to play a total of 20 battles to post in this section.
Skrub_Harvester

USN destroyers are overpowered, suggest nerfs

138 comments in this topic

Members
9 posts
70 battles

Hi everyone, I am new to WoWS and have recently started playing this awesome naval game.  I have previously only watched some videos of the gameplay, so I have some idea how this game works.

When I first started I played USN Destroyers, which appears to be an extremely easy class to play.  I have only played until the Clemson, but I heard that the line just gets better.  In fact, it is so good that I bought the Sims on the first day.  I think USN DDs are very overpowered for the game meta.  Here are some reasons.

After checking the other ships on the tech tree, I have come to the following conclusions:

1. Excellent Guns, they have excellent DPM when compared with other DDs, making them the best at killing DDs.

2.  I just realised that the smoke lasts very long.  In fact, over 100s of smoke at low tiers makes this DD very good at defending caps and zoning the enemy.

3. Torpedoes are quite excellent at deleting BBs, and I hear that unlike IJN torps they get better up to tier X.

4. Concealment is high but still workable.

5. Excellent cornering characteristics, while other DDs struggle to turn (like the IJN ones), the USN ones have good turning circles. 

6. Actually workable stealth fire at higher tiers.

Overall, I think WG has to nerf this DD class.

Members
105 posts
13,102 battles

Wait you're new to wows played it like a few days and have already decided certain ships should be nerfed, lol . The USN dd line has some gems , but so do the other lines, you just gotta grind thru the lemons to get the keepers in every line. I suggest getting more games in and trying the other lines before passing judgement tho.

• Cool 7

[NMKJT]
Beta Testers
24,800 posts
3,947 battles

Instead of nerfing some of the only good ships in the USN branch, why not buff the IJN for a change.