Jump to content


How to improve the Visual Quality and Anti-Aliasing of World of Warships - A Step-by-Step Guide

graphics sweetfx reshade anti-aliasing jaggies guide step-by-step gfx gpu nvidia

  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

TitiuBlack #21 Posted 25 July 2016 - 01:39 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • WoWS Community Contributors

  • 655
  • Member since:
    07-16-2015

Tks for sharing the info...

Will share my results after change.

Note: Playing on 1080p 70-76 FPS

 

 

 

 

My PC Specs:
Monitor: BenQ-XL2420Z
Gaming Keyboard: Razer BlackWidow Chroma
Gaming Keypad: Razer Nostromo
Mouse: Razer Naga 2011
Processor: i7 4790k
Motherboard: GIGABYTE h97 Gaming 3
Cooling: Seidon 120XL
Graphics Card: GF 780 GTX
Power Supplie: AX860i Corsair
Memory: 4 x 4gb Corsair Vengance
HDD : WD 1 TB SATA III
SSD: Kingston Hiper X 120gb
Microphone: Rode Podcast
WebCam: Logitech C260


Edited by TitiuBlack, 25 July 2016 - 01:41 PM.

                WOWS Brasil Bog: http://wowsbrasil.blogspot.com.br/

 

 


Fink117 #22 Posted 25 July 2016 - 06:42 PM

    Petty Officer

  • Beta Testers

  • 50
  • Member since:
    08-09-2012

An interesting issue has come up and I'm not sure if i've just never noticed before but on smaller maps i can see the "box" of the map in all 4 corners

Has anyone else run into this? Its not on every map. Ill try and make a list.


Yamato, Montana, Des Moines, Gearing, Großer Kurfürst, Hindenburg, Moskva 

 


vas7eel #23 Posted 25 July 2016 - 08:55 PM

    Seaman

  • Members

  • 35
  • Member since:
    08-31-2015

View PostFink117, on 25 July 2016 - 06:42 PM, said:

An interesting issue has come up and I'm not sure if i've just never noticed before but on smaller maps i can see the "box" of the map in all 4 corners

Has anyone else run into this? Its not on every map. Ill try and make a list.

 

 

Try bringing these to something closer to 0.  The values below that I put in the guide are what work for me, and got rid of the skybox.  They were originally much lower (-0.875 I believe) from the references I gathered from, but they had the skybox issue you are pointing out.

 

  1. Texture filtering - LOD Bias (DX): -0.1250
  2. Texture filtering - LOD Bias (OGL): -0.1250

 

 



Math_e #24 Posted 08 August 2016 - 05:28 PM

    Chief Petty Officer

  • Members

  • 130
  • Member since:
    07-03-2015

So the inspector changes Antialiasing compatibilty (the first, not the DX1x one) back to 0x00000000 everytime I apply changes. And didn't work

 

UPDATE: filled the spaces in another order and now worked, thanks!! Tho I lost lots of performance


Edited by Math_e, 08 August 2016 - 05:30 PM.

Specs: i5 3330; GTX 750 Ti SC; 2x4GB 1333mhz RAM; 1TB HD; Windows 10

 

 I have no regrets. This is the only path. My whole life was Unlimited torpedoes Blade Works.


chs4000 #25 Posted 14 August 2016 - 04:16 AM

    Chief Petty Officer

  • Members

  • 158
  • Member since:
    06-30-2016
This worked beautifully for me and I just wanted to report back here and say thank you!

vas7eel #26 Posted 15 August 2016 - 05:02 AM

    Seaman

  • Members

  • 35
  • Member since:
    08-31-2015

View Postchs4000, on 14 August 2016 - 04:16 AM, said:

This worked beautifully for me and I just wanted to report back here and say thank you!

 

Awesome, thanks for reporting back.  It's good to hear!

chs4000 #27 Posted 26 August 2016 - 05:22 PM

    Chief Petty Officer

  • Members

  • 158
  • Member since:
    06-30-2016
Has anyone tried different settings, e.g. 8xQ + 8x Sparse Grid Supersampling? That looks better on mine but I think it drops the framerate below 60fps on my NVidia GeForce 1060. Are there any in-between settings that improve the graphical quality but don't crash the game? I haven't tried all permutations, but the few that I've tried sometimes do pretty crazy things to the game, or outright blue-screen my computer. For the moment I'm using precisely the settings in the OP.

chs4000 #28 Posted 29 August 2016 - 01:40 AM

    Chief Petty Officer

  • Members

  • 158
  • Member since:
    06-30-2016

I just wanted to add that since I upgraded to the latest Nvidia drivers, this no longer worked for me until I used a new version of nvidiaProfileInspector, version 2.1.2.15, available here:

 

https://ci.appveyor....build/artifacts



NinjaJohenes48 #29 Posted 13 September 2016 - 10:51 PM

    Petty Officer

  • Alpha Tester

  • 76
  • Member since:
    08-09-2012
There's a problem. When i set Antialiasing compatibility to "0x404012C1" and then click apply it just resets it to 0x00000000.

Edited by NinjaJohenes48, 13 September 2016 - 10:52 PM.


Znayut #30 Posted 13 September 2016 - 11:53 PM

    Chief Petty Officer

  • Members

  • 101
  • Member since:
    08-09-2012

So pretty. Now my ships have wires instead of bits of Lego.

 

Thank you so much



NinjaJohenes48 #31 Posted 21 September 2016 - 05:55 PM

    Petty Officer

  • Alpha Tester

  • 76
  • Member since:
    08-09-2012
So because 0x404012C1​ was missing, my game started just locking up my whole PC when starting up. So I had to just delete the profile. Please help?

Battleship_OwariKai #32 Posted 25 October 2016 - 04:15 PM

    Petty Officer

  • Beta Testers

  • 84
  • Member since:
    05-17-2015
Got the same issue as the one above me, but mine still does work and looks fine.

[KNTAI] Combat Officer.


Lampshade_M1A2 #33 Posted 26 October 2016 - 07:22 AM

    Lieutenant

  • Members

  • 1,687
  • Member since:
    10-07-2014
Finally went through the trouble of getting anti-aliasing to work. Looks great but smoke causes a major FPS drop for some reason.

sneaksnek #34 Posted 02 November 2016 - 02:16 AM

    Seaman

  • Banned

  • 13
  • Member since:
    11-01-2016
:great:

chs4000 #35 Posted 13 January 2017 - 03:50 AM

    Chief Petty Officer

  • Members

  • 158
  • Member since:
    06-30-2016
Even though the game now has built-in adjustable anti-aliasing, I still find the method in the original post provides a better visual experience. This might be due to the superior form of transparency anti-aliasing? I really don't know for sure, but there's a noticeable difference and I find the game's built-in AA to be rather basic by comparison.

Navael #36 Posted 13 January 2017 - 06:36 AM

    Seaman Recruit

  • Members

  • 1
  • Member since:
    02-08-2016
very usefull! Thank you!!!

HardCarrier #37 Posted 05 May 2017 - 05:24 PM

    Seaman Recruit

  • Members

  • 1
  • Member since:
    12-28-2016

Just a note on the Reshade with Sweetfx enhancement.  The recent massive update for Windows 10 gave me the infamous 0xc0000005 error.  Finally narrowed the problem down to the Reshade/Sweetfx installation; manually removed all related files from the game folder and all good again!

 

Don't suppose there's an updated version that will play well with the latest iteration of Windows 10? 

 

 


Edited by HardCarrier, 05 May 2017 - 05:26 PM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users