Jump to content


WoWS Mac Wrapper Bugs and Feedback Thread


  • Please log in to reply
97 replies to this topic

DoctorTeitoku #1 Posted 25 May 2016 - 11:41 PM

    Master Chief Petty Officer

  • Members

  • 302
  • Member since:
    11-23-2012

Hello Captains!

 

We hope that you are excited to get into the Mac Wrapper, enabling you to play World of Warships on your Mac system. 

 

First, we would like to remind you that the Mac Wrapper is still in its testing phase. This means that there is a very limited amount of support we can offer for the Wrapper and client within.

 

Do not alter or remove files from the Wrapper itself. These files that you see when you "View Package Contents" are reference files only. They are used to call to the actual files that are updated properly.

 

To download the Wrapper, follow this link: LINK

 

DOWNLOADING WORLD OF WARSHIPS:

When you have finished downloading the Wrapper and launch it for the first time, the World of Warships Launcher will pop up and begin to download the game. Currently this the only way to install World of Warships onto your Mac. Files are being placed in a specific file system and currently cannot be dropped in.

 

Once the game client is downloaded, you can log in and play just like Windows World of Warships. You are on the same servers and using the same ships and controls as the Windows client users.

 

SUPPORT FOR THE MAC WRAPPER CLIENT:

Right now, all support for the Mac Wrapper will be done through this section of the forum. Once again:

ALL SUPPORT FOR THE MAC WRAPPER CLIENT WILL BE DONE THROUGH THIS SECTION OF THE FORUMS

SUPPORT TICKETS WILL BE REDIRECTED TO THE WoWS FORUMS.

 

 


 


COl_Kickbutt #2 Posted 26 May 2016 - 08:35 PM

    Seaman Recruit

  • Members

  • 4
  • Member since:
    08-09-2012
Disregard.

Edited by COl_Kickbutt, 26 May 2016 - 08:46 PM.


LaCroisiereSamuze #3 Posted 26 May 2016 - 11:23 PM

    Seaman Recruit

  • Members

  • 1
  • Member since:
    02-12-2016

Hi Doctor,

 

First of all, thank you for this awaited official installer. My comments about installer :

 

 

  • Wrapper installed WoWs launcher correctly :-)

 

  • WoWs launcher crashed at random times when updating game components : "An unhandled exception is occured. The application will be restarted.". Correctly resuming download after automatic restart. My firewall was disabled during update. https://postimg.org/image/lybf07765/

 

  •  ...and finally WoWs runs like a charm. Thank you again.

 

My config is MacBook Pro retina with El Capitan 10.11.3.

 

 

 



bwbrendan #4 Posted 27 May 2016 - 01:25 AM

    Seaman Recruit

  • Beta Testers

  • 2
  • Member since:
    08-09-2012

Hey guys the game experienced an unhandled error crashed restarted and then installed all the way. when i hit play the game crashes and says an unhandled error has occurred.  

 

Macbook retina early 2016 with EL Capitan 10.11.4

 

If you can help that would be cool. otherwise I'm juts gonna try and reinstall 



Capt_Inigo_Montoya #5 Posted 27 May 2016 - 06:28 AM

    Seaman Recruit

  • Members

  • 2
  • Member since:
    11-06-2015

Overall excellent and thank you for bringing it to Mac. I've encounter 3 issues.. 1) When clicking on the installation wrapper it stopped twice with a message "An unhanded exception is occurred, the app will be restarted". The 3rd time was a charm.  2) While playing the game froze twice, when I went to my desktop I encountered a message "The program WorldofWarships.exe has encountered a serious problem and needs to close.... this can be cause by a problem in Wow, or a deficiency in Wine, the compatibility layer which is being used to run Wow. Contact the WoW for help. 
It also gave me a black Program Error Details page which never loaded the info. 


2nd day using it and it crash again with the same "deficiency in Wine" message. 

 

 


Otherwise the game looks great!
Imac 27, 2012 3.2 ghz. / OS X Yosemite 10.10.5

Attached Files

  • Attached File   crashes.zip   3.02K

Edited by jorgezl, 28 May 2016 - 07:30 AM.


mousebert #6 Posted 28 May 2016 - 04:05 AM

    Seaman Recruit

  • Members

  • 3
  • Member since:
    10-31-2015

The Mac Wrapper crashes frequently. 

 

  Model Name:    Mac Pro

  Model Identifier:    MacPro5,1

  Processor Name:    6-Core Intel Xeon

  Processor Speed:    2.66 GHz

  Number of Processors:    1

  Total Number of Cores:    6

  L2 Cache (per Core):    256 KB

  L3 Cache:    12 MB

  Memory:    16 GB

  Processor Interconnect Speed:    6.4 GT/s

  Boot ROM Version:    MP51.007F.B03

MacOS version 10.11.8 Beta(15G7b)

Attached Files

  • Attached File   crashes.zip   24.24K

Edited by mousebert, 28 May 2016 - 04:16 AM.


jgc412 #7 Posted 28 May 2016 - 02:21 PM

    Seaman Recruit

  • Members

  • 1
  • Member since:
    11-17-2015

My issue is that I cannot install WOW on my mac, because I do not have enough space on my default drive. I would like to know how to alter the install location of WOW to set it to my external drive.
If there is no in-launcher method, please provide how to do this in the config files/other files.

Thanks! -jgc412 :(


Edited by jgc412, 28 May 2016 - 02:21 PM.


Metabolic_Syndrome #8 Posted 28 May 2016 - 08:54 PM

    Seaman Recruit

  • Members

  • 2
  • Member since:
    11-24-2015

View Postjgc412, on 28 May 2016 - 02:21 PM, said:

My issue is that I cannot install WOW on my mac, because I do not have enough space on my default drive. I would like to know how to alter the install location of WOW to set it to my external drive.
If there is no in-launcher method, please provide how to do this in the config files/other files.

Thanks! -jgc412 :(

 

I have the same issue.

(Undersized Primary drive on my imac)



kalman81 #9 Posted 29 May 2016 - 12:03 AM

    Seaman Recruit

  • Beta Testers

  • 9
  • Member since:
    04-02-2015

when launching the game from the launcher it crashes on my mac:

Application C:/Games/World_of_Warships/WorldOfWarships.exe crashed 05.28.2016 at 15:57:10

Message:
The BigWorld Client has encountered an unhandled exception and must close (EXCEPTION : 0x80000101 @ 0x97987572) ()

System info:
    OS Name: Windows XP
    OS Version: 5.5 Service Pack 3
    OS Architecture: x86


Memory info:
    Virtual memory: 64Kb/4192191Kb (1%)
    Working set (process physical memory): 0Kb/2097152Kb (0%)
    Commit charge (working set + process page file usage): 0Kb/3147708Kb (0%)
    Global physical memory: 1046596Kb/2097152Kb (49%)
    Global commitable memory (physical + pagefile): 1046596Kb/3147708Kb (34%)

 


System info:
COMPUTERNAME = MacBook
APPLICATION = C:\Games\World_of_Warships\worldofwarships.exe wows_wait_for_mutex
8 PROCESSOR(S) = 0 - 6 2a07
DISPLAYDEVICE 0 = \\.\DISPLAY1, X11 Windowing System, PCI\VEN_0000&DEV_0000

 

 



Revenge_of_Crazy_Horse #10 Posted 29 May 2016 - 01:06 AM

    Seaman Recruit

  • Members

  • 9
  • Member since:
    07-07-2015

Ticket #778672

Category:
WoWS
Sub-category:
Technical Support
Just saw the notice about a "new"MAC wrapper for WoW. Might this version resolve issues I have been having since the major update? Team chat no longer functions during games. If another player communicates with me, I cannot respond. I must seem very rude to a few Captains out there.

Is this wrapper different enough from the existing Code Weaver wrapper to re-load WoW?

Also, I have experienced a strange thing in games with the new update. A couple times, when I zoom in on a target, the view angle reverses and I'm looking out the stern of the ship not the bow.
 
Might as well ask about one very annoying bug; Sometimes, the firing reticle is green but the trigger won't pull. Zooming out wide and then back into  binocular view to fire helps sometimes but not being able to shoot has been dangerous.
 
 
Information required
CANCEL

 


Babylyn_Langaman #11 Posted 01 June 2016 - 11:58 AM

    Seaman Recruit

  • Members

  • 1
  • Member since:
    05-31-2016

View PostNikoPower, on 27 April 2016 - 12:52 AM, said:

When you post in the thread, you WILL NOT be able to see it once the post it complete. This protects the work of the creators. 

 



CaptSpock #12 Posted 01 June 2016 - 03:24 PM

    Petty Officer

  • Beta Testers

  • 54
  • Member since:
    03-30-2015
Just found out.  While D/L and install went well, my security settings would not allow the game to load due to "UNKNOWN DEVELOPER"

PhoinixW #13 Posted 01 June 2016 - 05:55 PM

    Petty Officer

  • Members

  • 53
  • Member since:
    07-04-2014

This is more of an FYI:

    The ONLY bug I get with the wrapper, which has increased in frequency with successive updates, is that it will completely freeze during a game. no message, no warning, just frozen screen and sound. I have to force quit, and log back in as quickly as possible and hopefully when I get back I'm not sunk.

 

Im running an 27 inch iMac  OS 10.11.5

3.2ghz intel core i5

8gb ram

nvidia geforce gt 755m 1024mb

 

This happens perhaps once every 10-15 battles, not consistently. Last year using the same wrapper earlier version it might have happened once every 30 battles.

 

thanks, and than you for making this!

 



CaptSemmes #14 Posted 04 June 2016 - 09:26 PM

    Seaman

  • Members

  • 13
  • Member since:
    03-01-2016

I have an issue I need help with please.

 

World of Warships Version 1.0.10 (1.0.10) (Mac)

Mac OS 10.11.5 El Capitan

MacBook Pro (17-inch, Mid 2009)

2.8 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo

4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3

NVIDIA GeForce 9400M 256 MB

 

First, I had this issue: "the data obtained from the update service is incorrect" when trying to start. Sent Ticket to Support and was advised "Our developers were made aware of this issue when it first occurred. The updating issue has since been resolved"

 

Following that, when I tried to start again, program loaded, started, fine. Download started. BUT it locks up at 365MB downloaded - same amount, same point, every time. Also locks up the whole computer requiring hard restart.

I have tried the following:

1. Running Disk Utility to check file structures

2. Re-installing WoW - including remove Library files.

I have played WoW since March using the wrapper and have never had any issues loading, updating, and playing the game. Recently, have not played in about 3 weeks and this issue occurred when I tried to start game again.

 

Any thoughts, suggestions or fixes? Thanks!



zslg01 #15 Posted 05 June 2016 - 02:07 PM

    Seaman Recruit

  • Members

  • 4
  • Member since:
    04-09-2016
I too am seeing the 'reversed view on two finger swipe' .. only issue I have seen.

zslg01 #16 Posted 05 June 2016 - 02:09 PM

    Seaman Recruit

  • Members

  • 4
  • Member since:
    04-09-2016
Is there any information on how to install the WoWS beta code on the Mac wrapper? I would have liked to test but couldn't find out how to get it installed.

Marie_splatoon #17 Posted 08 June 2016 - 08:38 PM

    Lieutenant

  • Members

  • 1,782
  • Member since:
    09-05-2015
Spoiler
i have a problem where in game and in the port the ships dont look right. like i dont see the deck or the skin of the ship keeps changing

Edited by Marie_splatoon, 08 June 2016 - 08:59 PM.

staaay salty!

my youtube channel: https://www.youtube....jPqIopdj15EZKgw

 

i need to stop sniffing paint


Underdog19 #18 Posted 19 June 2016 - 10:09 PM

    Seaman Recruit

  • Members

  • 1
  • Member since:
    07-01-2014
Bug found: Need to remap the Mac 'Option" Key to ALT.  Unable to launch manual aircraft attacks without ability for ALT-Click command.

Toastmaster124_ #19 Posted 21 June 2016 - 10:37 PM

    Seaman Recruit

  • Members

  • 1
  • Member since:
    06-18-2016
I have corrupt textures

Hypilot #20 Posted 27 June 2016 - 10:05 PM

    Seaman

  • Members

  • 35
  • Member since:
    04-03-2013
How can I install skins? The unpacker doesn't work as it is in .exe and the Mac can't open up those files.




2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users