Right of way for ships discussion

• Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

kerensky914 #21 Posted 03 January 2016 - 08:33 AM

Lieutenant Commander

• Supertester

My two cents on this topic.  Granted, bigger ship should generally have the right of way.  But also, f you are behind another ship, please assume that he has no idea you are there.  It's like skiing or snowboarding, the guy in front has right of way because he probably doesn't see you coming up behind him.

"Doctors can always bury their mistakes.  Architects can only advise their client to plant vines." - Frank Lloyd Wright

Lew_Patton #22 Posted 03 January 2016 - 02:54 PM

Petty Officer

• Members

I'm a newbie, but my pet peeve is getting rammed in the rear. Should be no excuse for that.

Veteran of the 1st Infantry Division, "The Big Red One"  

2ndAcr01 #23 Posted 07 January 2016 - 10:28 PM

Seaman

• Members

I will admit that I have rammed a few ships, one in my Minakaze, I was gunning the last enemy DD and got closer than I like to an allied Cruiser as the DD died. The cruiser, a Furry Taco if I remember right, decided to turn into my path, I slammed into full reverse trying to avoid him, but we collided anyway, which halted his turn just enough that he ate a volley and died.

I said I was sorry and had slammed full reverse to try and halt my forward progress.

It does happen. I have been rammed more times than I can count, I just chalk it up and keep going, 99% of the time I don't expect any apology, it happens and is not worth my time getting irritated about.

aether_tech #24 Posted 07 January 2016 - 11:05 PM

Commander

• Beta Testers
  • Members

View PostPcolaTy_1, on 31 December 2015 - 07:13 PM, said:

Actually, I think the right of way should go to whoever has low maneuverability. For example

Destroyer vs Cruiser - Cruiser has RoW

Cruiser vs Battleship - Battleship has RoW

Any ship vs carrier - carrier has RoW.

You want my Imperator NIcolai to manuver around a Rujio?