Anyone build those 3d metal ship models?

• Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

MJPIA #1 Posted 16 May 2017 - 08:18 PM

Warrant Officer

• Members

Was browsing Aliexpress and one thing led to another and I ended up impulse buying Bismarck.

Posted Image

I've never built one of these before in my life so naturally my first one has to be something complicated.

Sooooo what am I getting myself into here?

Anyone built this model before?

Lert #2 Posted 16 May 2017 - 08:21 PM

Admiral

• Supertester
  • In AlfaTesters
    Beta Testers

Not for the faint of heart. I'm a seasoned plastic modeler, but I'm intimidated by the fiddlyness of those. Use tweezers, use pliers. And one of these:

(Above stats not guaranteed accurate. I'm a supertester and test ships don't always register correctly)

Ship hipster: I liked Alabama before it was cool

Goose21891 #3 Posted 16 May 2017 - 08:30 PM

Fleet Admiral

• Beta Testers
  • In AlfaTesters

No clue. Can't find any reviews of that kit.

kerensky914 #4 Posted 16 May 2017 - 08:39 PM

Lieutenant Commander

• Supertester

View PostLert, on 16 May 2017 - 02:21 PM, said:

Not for the faint of heart. I'm a seasoned plastic modeler, but I'm intimidated by the fiddlyness of those.

Urf, same here.  I don't even begin to know how you put one of those together.  Super glue would be messy as hell when done, and I can't imagine what all I'd stick my fingers to.  Model glue would be useless.  Anyone got a tiny welder? :D

"it is a tale, told by an idiot, full of sound and fury, signifying nothing." - MacBeth, who was obviously talking about the forums...

"Doctors can always bury their mistakes.  Architects can only advise their client to plant vines." - Frank Lloyd Wright

Goose21891 #5 Posted 16 May 2017 - 08:42 PM

Fleet Admiral

• Beta Testers
  • In AlfaTesters

View Postkerensky914, on 16 May 2017 - 04:39 PM, said: