Furious Taco

Furious Taco Furies Talking

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

Carrier_Lexington #1 Posted 16 May 2017 - 11:45 AM

Ensign

• Members

So, I recently invested in Furutaka, as I never really made it very far up the IJN Cruiser line. I stopped at Tenryu, waaaaaaaaayyyyy far back, back before I had even 100 battles under my belt. I was a noob, and unable to use Tenryu to her full efficiency. However, I didn't want to be stuck at T3 and 4 again, so I skipped Kuma to Furutaka.

I like her. The guns hit very, very hard, and have extremely high fire chances. She's like a miniature battleship with worse armor. Alternatively, I'd compare her a little bit to a T5 Graf Spee.

I don't often get long-range torpedo hits except on AFK/Bot ships (which, thanks to T5, are still there in some matches), but the guns..... oohhh, those guns.

Destroyers that pop-up within gun-range evaporate under 203mm shells.

Cruisers burn nicely, and can melt depending on how skilled their helmsman is.

Battleships... sure, you shouldn't engage a battleship while you're alone. But, when they're shooting at someone else, feel free to light-em up and burn 'em down. Also, you can get close and torpedo them, since, at T5, they like to focus single targets.

Also, she has tons of hitpoints, comparatively. Single fires don't deal that much damage to her, so you can safely leave one burning while you save your damage control for later.

The only thing I don't like so much is the limited range, which, for a T5 cruiser with 203's, is probably to be expected. Definitely one of my favorite cruisers besides Konigsberg and Emile Bertin.

"Heresy!"

Unabletony #2 Posted 16 May 2017 - 11:52 AM

Rear Admiral

• Members

Upgrade to the hull C, which gives you the dual 203s. Research through Hull B and don't mount it at all, which was what I did.