Jump to content


aslains mod


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

tullmara #1 Posted 18 April 2017 - 08:05 PM

    Seaman Recruit

  • Members

  • 2
  • Member since:
    10-03-2014

Hello,

 

 Total noob here, do you have to uninstall Aslains mod before a update or not?

 

Thanks 



Spyde #2 Posted 18 April 2017 - 08:07 PM

    Commander

  • Beta Testers

  • 3,976
  • Member since:
    08-09-2012

View Posttullmara, on 18 April 2017 - 02:05 PM, said:

Hello,

 

 Total noob here, do you have to uninstall Aslains mod before a update or not?

 

Thanks 

 

No, you just have to install the updated version after the patch as the mods wont work.

 

 

Also to note, if your game is having issues after a patch.. then uninstall the mods.  This is only time you should have to.


Edited by Spyde, 18 April 2017 - 08:07 PM.

[-K-] Kraken

T10  Des Moines, Zao, Moskva, Hindenburg, Minotaur, Gearing, Shimakaze, Khabarovsk, Grozovoi  , Z52, Montana, Yamato, Grober Kurfurst   T9: Saint-Louis

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     

 


vak_ #3 Posted 18 April 2017 - 08:07 PM

    Captain

  • Beta Testers

  • 4,864
  • Member since:
    09-28-2012
No, you do not. 

CaptnAndy #4 Posted 18 April 2017 - 08:18 PM

    Master Chief Petty Officer

  • Beta Testers

  • 218
  • Member since:
    08-09-2012

I have used aslains mods since CBT, primarily for the fog remover &  clear vision. I loaded the WOWS mods yesterday and used it last night. The game vision was better than aslains. There are a few other differences, but nothing I have to have.

This is the link to the WOWS Mod Pack:

http://forum.worldof...k-updated-0631/

 


A,G. Kimbrough, Author/Publisher of BB-39, on Amazon now.

Bronco #5 Posted 18 April 2017 - 08:28 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Beta Testers

  • 495
  • Member since:
    08-09-2012

Since the patch is being released tomorrow, it will take at least a day or so for Aslain to update his mod pack. Therefore, don't bother trying to update the mod until Thursday at the earliest. As a side note, when you update your client, a new patch specific folder is created under the res_mods folder to avoid conflicts with mods of previous patches. Consequently, your current mods will be safely ignored until you install a fresh copy of the mod pack. The mod pack installer will handle deleting the old mods if you select a "clean install".

 

Hope this helps.



Termx #6 Posted 18 April 2017 - 08:36 PM

    Seaman

  • Beta Testers

  • 23
  • Member since:
    08-09-2012

Want to add you also want to check the option to delete the cache folder. That way you only have copies of the current mods you downloaded via the modpack setup, incase you need to reinstall.

 

You could use some mods on patch day, but it's best to read the patch notes on what mods were updated. Start small since most of the major modifications takes time to update. Even if they are updated, I always test them by going into a Training room and making sure all my custom alerts and UI changes are working as intended.

 

Training room is a best area to test mods instead of doing an actual battle in Coop or Random.



NikoPower #7 Posted 18 April 2017 - 09:01 PM

    Community Corgi Enthusiast

  • Administrator

  • 2,557
  • Member since:
    06-15-2013
Every update will break any installed mods because of differences in the client. You will just need to make sure you are installing an updated version of the pack. Doesn't matter if it is Aslains or the modpack we put in. 

- Created by Jorge_555

 

"To be honest in some strange way when I think of Niko I just imagine a Corgi, like my brain knows that Niko is a human but the Corgi image just works." - Devastator5000

 


Megrim3 #8 Posted 18 April 2017 - 09:15 PM

    Warrant Officer

  • Members

  • 520
  • Member since:
    06-21-2015
Yay.!! ..more updates.  Hurrah! Please and thank you for improving the game on a regular basis wging.

How_Terrible #9 Posted 19 April 2017 - 03:41 AM

    Master Chief Petty Officer

  • Beta Testers

  • 341
  • Member since:
    08-09-2012

View PostNikoPower, on 18 April 2017 - 03:01 PM, said:

Every update will break any installed mods because of differences in the client. You will just need to make sure you are installing an updated version of the pack. Doesn't matter if it is Aslains or the modpack we put in. 

 

 

This fact plus the fact that most mods that I used to use are now included in the client is why I stopped using mods altogether. With a game that has updates as frequently as WoWS keeping mods up to date is just to much of a hassle.6


Guten Tag


1nc0mp3t3nt_1 #10 Posted 19 April 2017 - 03:44 AM

    Captain

  • Beta Testers
  • In AlfaTesters

  • 5,915
  • Member since:
    01-29-2015
Honestly, the WoWS team has been pretty good with mod integration 

Excield #11 Posted 19 April 2017 - 03:50 AM

    Lieutenant Commander

  • Members

  • 2,867
  • Member since:
    12-29-2015
Where's that shrimp that whines every time there's an update that breaks his mods? Can't wait for his first early post tomorrow complaining that there was another patch :trollface:

Excield #12 Posted 19 April 2017 - 03:51 AM

    Lieutenant Commander

  • Members

  • 2,867
  • Member since:
    12-29-2015

View Post1nc0mp3t3nt_1, on 19 April 2017 - 03:44 AM, said:

Honestly, the WoWS team has been pretty good with mod integration 

 

Yeh. At this point, you don't really need any mods anymore. The main reason people would run mods nowadays is for reskins to the UI and ships.

renegadestatuz #13 Posted 19 April 2017 - 03:51 AM

    Captain

  • Members

  • 5,330
  • Member since:
    07-03-2013

View Post1nc0mp3t3nt_1, on 18 April 2017 - 10:44 PM, said:

Honestly, the WoWS team has been pretty good with mod integration 

They really have. +1 to them for that.


 
​Those who rebel, must be cleansed of their ways.

1nc0mp3t3nt_1 #14 Posted 19 April 2017 - 03:55 AM

    Captain

  • Beta Testers
  • In AlfaTesters

  • 5,915
  • Member since:
    01-29-2015

View PostExcield, on 19 April 2017 - 01:51 PM, said:

 

Yeh. At this point, you don't really need any mods anymore. The main reason people would run mods nowadays is for reskins to the UI and ships.

 

Still waiting on a way to skin my own ship with a camo I like but only display on my ship, and not every other ship of my type, but the work required for that is something I don't have my hopes up about

Sothron #15 Posted 19 April 2017 - 04:25 AM

    Chief Petty Officer

  • Members

  • 172
  • Member since:
    10-22-2015
I like the green lemon scope in aslan's mod. until they have something exactly like that in the scope options in game I will always use that mod.

Pulicat #16 Posted 19 April 2017 - 04:34 AM

    Commander

  • Members

  • 3,646
  • Member since:
    07-02-2013

View PostNikoPower, on 18 April 2017 - 02:01 PM, said:

Every update will break any installed mods because of differences in the client. You will just need to make sure you are installing an updated version of the pack. Doesn't matter if it is Aslains or the modpack we put in. 

doesn't break most. Wows makes a new mod folder with the current version number instead of renaming the old one. I figure this is meant so people don't complain why their game doesn't work should a couple of the mods actually have conflictions. Most of the time I just manually rename the old mod folder to the current version name and they work fine, no re-downloading required. 


 


BiggHAUS #17 Posted 19 April 2017 - 12:19 PM

    Seaman Recruit

  • Beta Testers

  • 1
  • Member since:
    07-29-2013

View Post1nc0mp3t3nt_1, on 19 April 2017 - 03:44 AM, said:

Honestly, the WoWS team has been pretty good with mod integration 

 

I agree.  There are some mods that I am sure people might find useful, but for 90% of the player base I think they are good to go.

JollyRoger6969 #18 Posted 19 April 2017 - 04:06 PM

    Ensign

  • Supertester
  • Alpha Tester
    In AlfaTesters

  • 1,127
  • Member since:
    05-08-2013
Training room enabler is the only mod I ever need.

bad_arcade_kitty #19 Posted 19 April 2017 - 04:07 PM

    Captain

  • Members

  • 4,942
  • Member since:
    10-06-2015

View PostJollyRoger6969, on 20 April 2017 - 02:06 AM, said:

Training room enabler is the only mod I ever need.

you can enable them without any mod albeit it's not very convenient


be kind to torpedo girls - scratching, pouncing, butt wiggling, tsundere kittens of the fleet!

JollyRoger6969 #20 Posted 19 April 2017 - 04:15 PM

    Ensign

  • Supertester
  • Alpha Tester
    In AlfaTesters

  • 1,127
  • Member since:
    05-08-2013

View Postbad_arcade_kitty, on 19 April 2017 - 10:07 AM, said:

you can enable them without any mod albeit it's not very convenient

 

exactly




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users