Advice for high tier battles

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

hpat #1 Posted 14 March 2017 - 02:30 AM

Seaman

• Members

Hello,

I started playing about eight months ago, and failed my way up to the IJN Mogami. I wasn't good enough to play the Mogami to a profit or even break even, so I started up some other lines. I appreciate on tier 9 and 10, this is the norm for good players is breaking even or losing credits.

Around December I realized how much of a nooblord I was and started to learn to play, spending a long time with a Christmas box Molotov and the Graf Spee.before settling into the Leander and Fiji, because smoke and repair parties on a cruiser is the easy mode.

Once I felt I was getting better, and my overall win rate was climbing back to my target of 50%, I decided to have another go with the Mogami. Cue the fail montage. It turn out that at tier 8, 9, and 10, players have learned to turn unpredictably, and showing your broadside is punished with obliteration rather than mere heavy damage.

Can anyone give me to some specific tips for high tier, apart from 'git gud,' 'Don't sail broadside to anything,' and 'uninstall?'

Thanks!

ckupf #2 Posted 14 March 2017 - 02:40 AM

Lieutenant

• Members

I might give watching some streamers a go, Mejash and Braincage are my favorites on Twitch, but there are plenty of good ones out there. I learn best by watching.

You need to play a lot to get the situational awareness needed to not get nuked. Don't sail broadside might be said a thousand times a day, but that's because of how important it is. Learn when to keep your guns quiet, when to disengage, when to make for cover, look for signs of ships turning, and constantly be turning yourself. Work with your teammates and pay attention to the minimap. When I am not actively engaged I spend almost as much time on the minimap as the rest of the screen. 

If you have specific questions I can give more specific answers, but that's my general advice.